Right between the eyes

January 22, 2014 at 8:35 am | Posted in copywriting | 4 Comments
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
2163474742_76d766fcfe_o Bullets

Now look here.

Last week I optimised a LinkedIn summary.

This was a natural progression from editing resumes.

And with jobs falling like flies, I expect this work to burgeon.

My client had asked for a ‘punchier’ summary, yet had much to say in a small space.

So I pulled out the big guns:

bullet points.

But when I submitted the summary, my client asked:

Do you think it’s OK to have many sets of bullet points like that?

I thought carefully before replying.

LinkedIn is mutating monthly.

What worked before may not now.

And many who claim to be social media ‘gurus’ aren’t.

That said, I felt my reply was solid:

Bullets pack a pithy punch while resting reader eyes.

This is particularly important online – where attention spans are gnat-like.

And the LinkedIn format fairly begs for this kind of ‘shorthand’.

The good thing about bullets is that if you feel there are too many, you can ditch the least-fabulous ones.

So, the question is: how much of a punch do you wish to pack?

You can answer this question yourself.

Or ask your trusty focus group.

As is so often the case, we should let our readers be our guide.

Fair enough?

My client agreed.

Do you?

🙂

Brought to you by The Feisty Empire.

4 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I absolutely agree, Paul. Most LinkedIn profiles are heavy on the corporate-speak waffle. I’m much rather see a few succinct bullet-points.

    • I’m thrilled to hear it, Sarah. As one of my best benchmarks, your endorsements make my day. Thank you! 🙂

  2. I agree, most are too heavy on the guff. A few well chosen bullet points are better than hard to read paragrahs. The more you tell the more you sell … ypurself.

    All killer, no filler!

    • Thanks for your thoughts, Malcolm. And your ripper mantra. I might just borrow that one if you don’t mind! Kind regards, P. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Entries and comments feeds.

